
 

Summary of Selected Rule Changes  

Effective June 8, 2015 
Ohio Administrative Code (OAC) Chapter 4732 

 
The Ohio Board of Psychology’s recent rule writing process included stakeholder 

meetings and a call for comments sent by email to all license holders. The amended 
rules effective June 8, 2015 have been published in the OAC and can be found at 
http://psychology.ohio.gov/Laws-Rules/Psychology-Law-and-Rules. Although several 

rules were not amended and there were some technical and cosmetic corrections, 
many rules have undergone significant substantive changes. There are numerous rule 

changes not referenced in this summary, so do not rely on this summary in isolation. 
 
OAC 4732-1-06 Biennial registration 

Changes reflect the new renewal category of “retired” psychologist or school 
psychologist set in statute (Ohio Revised Code 4732.142). Those wishing to retire and 

cease practice while maintaining use of the title “psychologist” may do so starting with 
the 2016 license renewal period for a fee of $50 without any MCE requirements. New 
rule (E) addresses requirements for the reinstatement of a “retired” license—a form 

will need to be completed, the most recent renewal fee paid and the most recent MCE 
requirements met, but the statutory $250 reinstatement penalty is waived. If deemed 

necessary by the Board to determine the current competency of the retired license 
holder seeking license reinstatement, an oral examination may be required.  
 

OAC 4732-3-01 Definitions 
The definition of "professional psychological role" was updated in paragraph (R) to add 

the supervisor-supervisee relationship and those license holders in an evaluative role 
concerning a student's academic and/or applied performance.   
 

OAC 4732-13-04 Requirements pertaining to supervision 
There is no longer a requirement to seek Board permission to exceed four 
supervisees, although there is a new cap on supervisees’ weekly clients. This change 

in (B) Supervisor responsibilities (9) eliminates the longstanding “more than four” 
requirement, but sets a total supervisee client cap at one hundred per week. The rule 

states, “A supervisor shall actively monitor the weekly number of clients and/or 
training subjects of supervisees…Although there is no limit on the number of 

supervisees registered with the board…a supervisor shall not on a weekly basis, 
emergency situations excepted, delegate work to supervisees that affects more than 
one hundred total clients.”  There is no requirement to notify the Board about weekly 

supervisee client hours, although all supervisees still need to be registered.  
Supervisors with large supervisee client caseloads should immediately review weekly 

contacts and make any necessary adjustments to comply with the new cap. Limiting 
the weekly supervisee client caseload to one hundred (whether you have four 
supervisees or ten supervisees) is a matter of self-governance and ethical practice. 

 

http://psychology.ohio.gov/Laws-Rules/Psychology-Law-and-Rules
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OAC 4732-17-01 General rules of professional conduct  

 
1) “Sexual harassment” is newly defined in (B) Negligence (2) and is prohibited in 

connection with the license holder’s professional activities and roles.  
 

2) New rules address the client’s access to records in (B) Negligence (7) 

Maintenance and retention of records. License holders “shall provide clients 
with reasonable access to records…and only limit clients' access to records only 

in exceptional circumstances in which the license holder determines for clearly 
stated treatment reasons that disclosure of the requested records is likely to 
have an adverse effect on the client.” 

 
3) There are new documentation requirements in (B) Negligence (7):   

 
 Notation of providing verbal communication of assessment results in the 

absence of a written report. 

 Written documentation of informed consent, permission, or assent, as 
warranted by the circumstances, for treatment or evaluation prior to 

proceeding with the provision of services. 
 Justification and rationale for not releasing records to a client in response 

to a request, including clearly stated treatment reasons that disclosure of 
the requested records is likely to have an adverse effect on the client. 

 Knowledge of all multiple relationships present, with reasoning as to why 

it is in the best interest of the client and/or not harmful to continue the 
professional relationship. 

 
4) Another change to (B) Negligence (7) eliminates the requirement to keep the 

full record for five years and a summary or general record for an additional 

seven years (a total of twelve years). Effective immediately, instead of the two 
retention periods, there is only one retention period—all contents of the record 

must be retained for seven years after the last date of service rendered, or not 
less than the length of time required by other regulations if that is longer. This 
applies to all of your records regardless of when the services began. If you 

have files with a last date of service before June 8, 2008, they may be 
destroyed in a manner that safeguards confidentiality. Another new rule 

indicates that records documenting services rendered to minors must be 
retained for not less than two years after the minor has reached the age of 
majority or for seven years after the last date of service, whichever is longer. 

This is also effective immediately.  
 

5) Significant changes have been made to (C) Welfare of the client (1) Conflicts of 
interest, including the following new rules:   
 

 “(a) License holders in a treatment role with two or more clients who 
have a relationship with each other, and who are aware of each other's 

participation in treatment (for example, couples and family members), 
shall clarify with all parties and document the nature of one's 
professional obligations to the various clients receiving services, including 

limits of confidentiality and access to records.”  
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 “(b) License holders in a treatment role with one or more adults involved 

in a contested parenting time or custody dispute shall anticipate being 
asked to participate in conflicting roles. License holders shall clarify and 

document as early as feasible that his/her role is restricted to providing 
therapeutic services, and shall take appropriate action to avoid role 
conflicts.”  

 “(c) License holders in a treatment role with one or more adults involved 
in a contested parenting time or custody dispute shall not render verbal 

or written opinions to any person or entity, including but not limited to 
the client, any court, attorney, guardian ad litem, or other professional 
about a client's access or other person's access to, or parenting time 

with, any child.”  
 “(d) License holders in a treatment role with one or more children shall 

not render verbal or written opinions about any adult's access to or 
parenting time with the child client(s).” 
 

6) Another new rule (C) Welfare of the client (1) (e) clarifies that, “In the absence 
of a preexisting relationship, license holders may undertake roles specifically 

determined by a court or other adjudicative body or child welfare agency 
(concerning, for example, parenting coordination and family reunification), 

wherein rendering opinions and recommendations about the client(s) to the 
adjudicative body may be necessary and appropriate, if consistent with the 
parameters of a written order or directive, and if the role of the license holder is 

established in written informed consent procedures.”  
 

7) Updated (C) Welfare of the client (2) includes new rules specific to “unforeseen 
multiple relationships”: 
 

 “(b) All potential multiple relationships shall be discussed with the client 
as soon as possible after being first recognized and shall continue only 

with both parties’ agreement.” 
 “(c) License holders document the discovery of all multiple relationships, 

with reasoning as to why it is in the best interest of the client and/or not 

harmful to continue the professional relationship.”  
 “(d) As warranted, the presence of a multiple relationship shall be 

reassessed and justified in the record. Issues such as informed consent 
and professional consultation shall be considered and documented to 
ensure that judgment is not impaired and that no exploitation of any 

person occurs.” 
 

8) Updated (C) Welfare of the client (4) clarifies and expands on informed consent 
requirements relative to clients, evaluees, and other persons:  
 

 “(a) License holders clearly document written informed consent, 
permission, or assent, as warranted by the circumstances, for treatment 

or evaluation prior to proceeding with the provision of psychological or 
school psychological services.” 

 “(b) When a license holder is in an individual treatment role, there may 

be reason for a third party to join one or more sessions for a limited 
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purpose. The license holder shall document in the record that the client 
or legal guardian has acknowledged understanding the purpose and need 

for the third party to be present and the circumstances and extent to 
which confidential information may be disclosed to the third party. The 

license holder shall document that the third party has provided an 
understanding that the individual is not a client, that there is no 
expectation of confidentiality between the license holder and the third 

party, and that the third party shall not have rights to access any part of 
the client's file (unless the client provides written authorization to release 

specific confidential information). A license holder shall not render 
opinions or recommendations to any person or entity, including but not 
limited to the client, any court, attorney, guardian ad litem, or other 

professional concerning such third parties.” 
 “(d) When a court or other adjudicative body orders an evaluation, 

assessment or intervention, the license holder shall document and inform 
the evaluee(s) or client(s) of the parameters of the court order and shall 
not provide services or opinions beyond the parameters of the order.” 

 “(e) When a license holder provides services to two or more clients who 
have a relationship with each other and who are aware of each other's 

participation in treatment (for example, couples and family members), 
the license holder shall clarify with all parties and document the parties' 

understanding about how records of the services will be maintained, who 
has access to the records, and any limits of access to the records.” 
 

9) A new rule (F) Testing and test interpretation (2) Test security (c) states, 
“License holders shall not permit inadequately supervised use of psychological 

tests or assessment measures unless the measure is designed, intended, and 
validated for self-administration and self-administration is supported by the 
instructions of the test publisher.”  

 
10) A new rule (G) Confidentiality (2) (f)  indicates that “Minor clients who are 

offered privacy as a means of facilitating free disclosure of information shall be 
told by the license holder that the parent(s) and/or guardian(s) have a right to 
access their records, unless otherwise prohibited by court order, statute, or 

rule. The license holder shall document in the record this disclosure to the 
minor client.”  

 
11) The old text of the research ethics and safeguards rule 4732-17-02 has been 

replaced by new requirements found in the most recent APA Code of Conduct.  

 
We hope this summary is helpful. Please make time to become familiar with all of the 

updated rules.  
 
 

Ronald Ross, Ph.D. 
Executive Director 

 
June 5, 2015 


