
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 
Application for a Psychologist License in the state of Ohio 

 

Complete information available from Ohio Revised Code Chapter 4732, Ohio 
Administrative code Chapter 4732, or Board office 

 

 
 

Question 1:  What are the basic requirements for a psychologist license? 
 
  Answer: Candidates shall be of good moral character, at least 21 years of age, pass a 

criminal background check to the satisfaction of the Board, hold a doctoral degree in 
psychology or school psychology from an accredited educational institution, and have 

completed at least 3,600 hours of qualifying supervised training.  Candidates who 
submit an application with evidence of a qualifying doctoral degree may be admitted 
to the Examination for Professional Practice in Psychology (EPPP). 

  There are currently two pathways to licensure as a psychologist while a grandfather 
period is in place until April 2017.  Please carefully review the description of current 

licensure options here: http://psychology.ohio.gov/Applicants/Psychologist 

 
Question 2: When should I submit my application for admission to the EPPP? 

 
  Answer: Applicants may be admitted to the EPPP upon receipt of an application and 

fee, and the Board’s determination that a qualifying degree has been completed as 
evidenced by receipt in the Board office of a qualifying doctoral transcript direct from 

the academic institution. 

 
Question 3: How long is an application valid? 

 
  Answer: An application is valid for three years from the date it was received at the 

Board office. 

 
Question 4: How much does the application/examination process cost? 

 
  Answer: The application and license fee is $300 (personal check or money order 

payable to “Treasurer, State of Ohio”).  ASPPB’s fee for the EPPP is $600, and there is 
also a credit card/debit card charge payable to the exam vendor Pearson.  After you 
pass the EPPP, there is no charge for the Ohio oral exam unless it must be repeated.  

The re-administration fee is $50. 

 

Question 5: What is the passing score on the Examination for Professional 
Practice in Psychology [EPPP]? 

 

  Answer: Computerized exam scaled score of 500; pre-computerized paper 
examination score of 140. 

http://psychology.ohio.gov/Applicants/Psychologist


Question 6: What materials do I need to submit to apply for the Psychologist 
license? 

 
  Answer: Please see the application form and instructions: Psychologist Application 

 
Question 7:  Can my supervised experience be acquired on a part-time work 

schedule? 

 
  Answer: You are permitted a total of three years to complete 1800 hours required for 

equivalence to one year’s experience (under the “old law”). Under the new law you are 
allowed two years to complete the internship. The Board credits no more than 40 
hours per week for training supervision. 

 
Question 8: What accommodations can be made for taking the EPPP if I have a 

disability? 
 
  Answer: Indicate on the application form that you have a bona fide medical disability. 

We will require medical documentation (and possibly information about previous 
accommodations made during graduate school), and then appropriate 

accommodations may be made so that you can take the computerized version of the 
EPPP. 

 
Question 9: How do I learn about the oral examination? 
 

  Answer: The examination is memorization-based and is administered in Columbus on a 
schedule announced by the Board. The laws and rules of the Board from which 

questions are drawn are in a preparation manual. Prior to being admitted to the oral 
exam, the receipt for the preparation manual must be signed and returned to the 
Board office. 

 
NOTE:  These are brief answers to frequent questions.  For detailed information, 

call the Board office at (614) 466-8808.  The application form, instructions, and 
Law and Rules are all posted on this web site. 

http://psychology.ohio.gov/Portals/0/Licensing/PSYCH%20APP%20AND%20INSTRUCT%20PEARSON%20UPDATE%20and%20THREE%20YEARS%208.11.15.pdf

