
 

 

Criminal Records Check Requirement for 
Certified Ohio Behavior Analyst Applicants 
 
 
 
 
State law requires applicants for certification and licensure issued by virtually all Ohio professional and 
occupational licensing boards, including the State Board of Psychology, to complete a criminal records 
check conducted by the Ohio Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investigation (BCII) and the Federal 
Bureau of Investigation (FBI).  Pursuant to ORC 4783.04 (A)(2), persons submitting an application are not 
eligible for ABA certification by the State Board of Psychology in the absence of a criminal records check 
and a determination that the results do not make the applicant ineligible for a license to practice psychology 
or school psychology. Under existing law, the Board may refuse to issue a certificate to any candidate for 
violation of ORC 4783.09 (A) “(1) Conviction of a felony, or of any offense involving moral turpitude, in a 
court of this or any other state or in a federal court” and/or based on evidence that deems the candidate is 
not in compliance with Board law requiring “good moral character” under ORC 4783.04 (A)(1). .   
 

Psychology Board Procedures for the Criminal Records Check  
Electronic fingerprint impressions can be provided in person at most of the eighty eight (88) Ohio county 
sheriff’s offices or another agency holding the National Web Check (“NWC”) designation.  Psychology 
Board applicants must use an Ohio WebCheck® vendor that can conduct both the BCII and FBI 
background checks.  To find locations of all NWC agencies in Ohio, applicants are directed to the 
WebCheck® Community Listing on the Ohio Attorney General’s website below, where each Ohio county 
can be selected from a drop-down menu and locations, contact information, and business hours of NWC 
agencies are displayed. Be certain to select an agency with “BCII & FBI” appearing after the company 
name to enable the FBI background check so that the applicant and the Board comply with this 
requirement.   
 

http://www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov/Services/Business/WebCheck/Webcheck-Community-Listing 
 
This link can also be found by clicking on “ABA Certification” and then “Criminal Records Checks” at the 
Psychology Board website, www.psychology.ohio.gov.   
 
To be valid for the Psychology Board’s purposes, the criminal records check can be completed no earlier 
than one year prior to the issuance of the certificate, and applicants are responsible for planning 
accordingly.   
 
On the appropriate BCII-prescribed form to be completed at the NWC site, the applicant shall:  
 

1) Indicate the applicant’s name and address;  
2) Direct the results to: Psychology Board, 77 S. High St, 18

th
 floor, Columbus OH 43215-6108;  

3) Request that BCII obtain from the FBI any information it has pertaining to the applicant;  
4) List the agency code as “1AB002”; and,  
5) List the reason as “required for certification per ORC 4783.04(A)(2)”     

 
The applicant is responsible for paying all prescribed fees at the NWC site selected and shall not pay any 
fees to the Board for his purpose. The cost for both record checks is approximately $60-$65 in addition to 
any WebCheck® agency fingerprint processing fee. Some anticipated questions and answers can be found 
on the reverse of this page.  Please direct questions about this requirement to the Board office at (614) 466-
8808 or toll free (877) 779-7446.   
 
 

 
 
 

 

 

http://www.ag.state.oh.us/business/fingerprint/data/index.asp
http://www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov/Services/Business/WebCheck/Webcheck-Community-Listing
http://www.psychology.ohio.gov/


 
 

Q&A: Criminal Records Checks for Ohio Psychology Board Licensure 
 
 

Question 1:  I live outside of Ohio.  Why can’t I do the records check at home?   
 

Answer:  Only Ohio WebCheck® (NWC) sites that provide “BCII & FBI” background checks 
are acceptable to ensure that the Board can review an accurate, thorough, and timely criminal 
records check before issuing a license.  

  
Question 2: I recently had an FBI records check completed for another purpose.  Can I just 
use those results to meet the requirement of the State Board of Psychology?   
 

Answer:  No. According to the law, the Board is responsible for reviewing the results of a new 
criminal  records check completed for the Board before issuing a license.   

 
Question 3: How much time will this add to the licensure process?   
 

Answer:  Records check results should get to the Board in no more than 3-5 business days  
after you are fingerprinted.  Completing the records check in advance of submitting the 
application could speed up the license process by several days.     

 
Question 4: What happens if I have a criminal history reported to the Board?   
 

Answer:  Depending on the nature of the results of the records check, the Board will 
determine if the offense(s) render the application ineligible for licensure and/or whether the 
offenses on record were denied on the notarized application form.  The Board may refuse to 
issue a license to any applicant based on conviction of a felony or of any offense involving 
moral turpitude, for not being of “good moral character,” or for using fraud, misrepresentation, 
or deception in the application process.   

 
Question 5: Are the results of my background check confidential?   
 

Answer: Yes.  The results are confidential, although you or a legal representative may review 
the results. 

 
Question 6: Will I need to do criminal records check to renew my certificate every two 
years?   
 

Answer: No. The records check requirement does not apply to the biennial registration 
process.    

 
 


