Ohio.gov  |   State Agencies   |   Online Services

Nonresident Services in Ohio and via Telepsychology

Nonresident Application for 30-Day Permission to Practice Without a License

This application is restricted to the use of nonresidents of Ohio seeking express permission to practice psychology in Ohio for no more than 30 days per year in person or via telepsychology with current clients or patients temporarily in Ohio (presuming that the applicant’s home jurisdiction does not prohibit interjurisdictional telepsychology practice).  This is not a temporary “license.”  It is permission to practice in Ohio without a license.  The thirty (30) days may be consecutive or intermittent, although those granted this permission are required to limit practice to thirty (30) days in any three hundred sixty-five day period, on a “rolling” basis.  For example, permission granted by letter dated July 8, 2014 begins a one-year period ending July 7, 2015.  Any service rendered on any given day counts as one of the thirty days.  Permission granted is not intended to allow for the establishment of a new telepsychology relationship.

 

The Board is authorized to review applications for temporary permission to practice under State law:

§ 4732.22 Exceptions from licensing requirements.

 

The following persons are exempted from the licensing requirements of this chapter:

(2) Any nonresident temporarily employed in this state to render psychological services for not more than thirty days a year, who, in the opinion of the board, meets the standards for entrance in division (B) of section 4732.10 of the Revised Code, who has paid the required fee and submitted an application prescribed by the board, and who holds whatever license or certificate, if any, is required for such practice in the person's home state or home country.

 

Applicants must be judged to meet Ohio requirements for licensure under State law:

§ 4732.10 Qualifications for admission

http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4732.10

 

Revised June 2014

Application and Information
30 Day Permission to Practice Application (Nonresident Services in Ohio and via Telepsychology)
Rules Governing Telepsychology
Questions
For questions regarding the application and/or telepsychology, please contact the Board at (614) 466-8809 or psy.ce@psy.ohio.gov.
Requirements for Obtaining Permission to Practice

The following are required before the Board will consider granting permission for 30-day practice.

 

  1. Verification of valid license from another U.S. state or Canadian province 
  2. Official transcript from the accredited academic institution that awarded the doctoral degree.
  3. Verification of at least two (2) years of supervised professional experience acceptable to the Board. This requirement might be waived depending on the licensing history of the applicant and requirements of the home jurisdiction
  4. All of these requirements might be waived for individuals with Active ABPP status, the ASPPB CPQ, or National Register.
  5. Completion of this application and submission of the fee of $150 payable to "State Treasurer" and mailed to the Board with the application.

Please Note: Applicants do not have permission to practice until in receipt of a dated letter from the Board office bearing the official seal of the Ohio Board of Psychology. Letters granting permission to practice are sent by U.S. mail and will be sent via email upon request.

 

Successful applicants are required to comply with Ohio Laws and Rules Governing Psychologists. Alleged violations may result in termination of a permit, denial of future application for licensure, and/or referral to your home jurisdiction(s) for review.